Fantasia and Pinocchio win 1941 Retro-Hugo Awards.


Two classic Walt Disney animation films,  Fantasia and Pinocchio were awarded with Retro-Hugo Awards yesterday (Thursday August 18th 2016) at MidAmeriCon II the 74th World Science Fiction Convention being held in Kansas City, Missouri, U.S.A.

The World Science Fiction Convention or Worldcon for short is the oldest running  science fiction and fantasy convention in the word, and has been in existence since 1939.

The Hugo Awards have been  presented annually since 1955 are  one of the most prestigious awards in science fiction and fantasy.  Named after Hugo Gernsback, the founder of the pioneering science fiction magazine Amazing Stories, they were officially named the Science Fiction Achievement Awards until 1992.

Retrospective Hugo Awards, or Retro Hugos, were added in the mid-1990s. These awards are given by Worldcons held 50, 75, or 100 years after a Worldcon where no Hugos had been awarded.  Therefore this years Worldon hosted the ceremony for 1941.


Yesterday, 76 years after the release of Fantasia, Walt Disney Productions was awarded the Retrospective Hugo Award for Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form).  The film faced competition from the likes of ‘Flash Gordon Conquers the Universe’ and ‘Dr. Cyclops’. 



At the same ceremony Disney’s 1940 classic Pinocchio was awarded with a Retrospective Hugo Award for Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form) beating off some stiff competition from the likes of ‘The Invisible Man Returns’, and  the Tex Avery classic ‘A Wild Hare’.

Here is a full list of the finalists for 1941 Best Dramatic Presentation Retrospective awards.

Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form) Finalists 

  • Dr. Cyclops written by Tom Kilpatrick, directed by Ernest B. Schoedsack (Paramount Pictures)
  • Fantasia written by Joe Grant and Dick Huemer, directed by Samuel Armstrong et al. (Walt Disney Productions, RKO Radio Pictures)
  • Flash Gordon Conquers the Universe written by George H. Plympton, Basil Dickey, and Barry Shipman, directed by Ford Beebe and Ray Taylor (Universal Pictures)
  • One Million B.C. written by Mickell Novack, George Baker, and Joseph Frickert, directed by Hal Roach and Hal Roach, Jr. (United Artists)
  • The Thief of Bagdad written by Lajos Bíró and Miles Malleson, directed by Michael Powell, Ludwig Berger, and Tim Whelan (London Films, United Artists)

 Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form) Finalists 

  • The Adventures of Superman: “The Baby from Krypton” written by George Ludlam, produced by Frank Chase (WOR)
  • The Invisible Man Returns written by Joe May, Kurt Siodmak, and Lester Cole, directed by Joe May (Universal Pictures)
  • Looney Tunes: “You Ought to Be in Pictures” written by Jack Miller, directed by Friz Freleng (Warner Bros.)
  • Merrie Melodies: “A Wild Hare” written by Rich Hogan, directed by Tex Avery (Warner Bros.)
  • Pinocchio written by Ted Sears et al., directed by Ben Sharpsteen and Hamilton Luske (Walt Disney Productions, RKO Radio Pictures)



To bring us back to the present this year two  Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures films have been nominated for the 2016 Hugo Awards, ‘Avengers: Age of Ultron’  and of course ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’.

Both films this year face very strong competition from the likes of ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’, ‘The Martian’ and ‘Ex-Machina’.    The winners of the 2016 Hugos  will be announced on Saturday, August 20, at the MidAmeriCon II Hugo Awards Ceremony.

Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form) Finalists 

  • Avengers: Age of Ultron written and directed by Joss Whedon (Marvel Studios; Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures)
  • Ex Machina written and directed by Alex Garland (Film4; DNA Films; Universal Pictures)
  • Mad Max: Fury Road written by George Miller, Brendan McCarthy, and Nico Lathouris, directed by George Miller (Village Roadshow Pictures; Kennedy Miller Mitchell; RatPac-Dune Entertainment; Warner Bros. Pictures)
  • The Martian screenplay by Drew Goddard, directed by Ridley Scott (Scott Free Productions; Kinberg Genre; TSG Entertainment; 20th Century Fox)
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens written by Lawrence Kasdan, J. J. Abrams, and Michael Arndt, directed by J.J. Abrams (Lucasfilm Ltd.; Bad Robot Productions; Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures)


World Science Fiction Society”, “WSFS”, “World Science Fiction Convention”,
“Worldcon”, “NASFiC” “Hugo Award”, the Hugo Award Logo, and the distinctive
design of the Hugo Award Trophy Rocket are service marks of the World Science
Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society.




About Salon Mickey

Salon Mickey The Disneyland Paris Shareholders Blog
This entry was posted in Disneyland Paris and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.