Backstage at The Hyperion Gazette podcast

hyperiongazette

Last month we interviewed Disneyland Paris fan  and  DLP Hot Seat  host  Mitchell, and I received some very good feedback to that article, so we are starting an occasional Backstage series where once a month we will interview a member of the Disneyland Paris community.

So joining us this week in the Salon Mickey Lounge is Isaac Pevy host of The Hyperion Gazette podcast. Isaac is 21-years-old and is a freelance graphic and web designer who lives  near Ashford in Kent  which is handy for the Eurostar.  He  is a massive Disney and Star Wars fan, so when in 2012 The Walt Disney Company bought Lusasfilm and the Star Wars franchise it was  perfect for him .

Q: How long have you been a fan of Disneyland Paris?

I’ve been a fan for as long as I can remember. My Dad was always a big Disney fan and went to Euro Disney when it opened back in ’92. We went several times when I was very little, but then had a bit of a hiatus until 2012. Since then, I’ve been back over 10 times.

Q: When did you first visit Disneyland Paris and how often do you go?

I think the first time must have been when  was in 1998, when I was three. Now I try to make at least one visit a year, but usually end up going two or three times.

Q: Are you an Annual Pass holder?

I have been for a couple of years, but my pass ran out in February! I plan on renewing it next time I head over there, though.

Q: Are you a Euro Disney Shareholder?

I’m not. I got here a bit late to make holding shares worth the money really, other than to say that “I own a part of Disneyland”, which would be pretty cool.

Q: Have you visited any other Disney parks around the world?

Unfortunately not. California looks like it might be happening towards the end of the year though, which is VERY exciting.

image

Q: How did you come up with the idea of starting the Hyperion Gazette podcast?

I’ve been wanting to start a podcast for a long time. A really long time. But I’ve never really had a unique idea, and I didn’t want to rehash what others were doing. Then one day I found myself just telling people about various parts of Disney history and they found it interesting. So I thought why not record this and release it.

There are so many podcasts about these days that listening to them all is tricky, so I thought I’d go for a short bite-size format that packs in some cool trivia information. Just something that makes you go “huh. How interesting”. At least, I hope that’s what my listeners think!

Q: Do you have a favourite episode so far?

I’m extremely critical of my own work. Considering basically all my podcasts have just been me I don’t really ever listen to one and think “this is brilliant”. But I really enjoyed working with Mitchell from the Disneyland Paris Hot Seat to produce my Tsum Tsum episode, and the Oscars one was good fun to do.

My latest one on Discovery Island though I think is possibly my favourite, though. It felt like uncovering something hidden, and doing some detective work, something I’d like to do more of in future.

Q: Do you find it difficult to produce a weekly podcast?

Short answer: yes. It’s difficult to find time to research and produce a podcast to the quality I’m happy with each week if I’m honest. But – as a listener myself I appreciate a weekly podcast, so it’s something I’m going to continue to try to do. I’ve had a few hiccups on the way, with various things in my life happening meaning I have to put the podcast on hold for a week or so, but things are starting to stabilise in that sense so the weekly format is going nowhere.

Q: How can people listen to your podcast?

It’s available everywhere! iTunes, Stitcher, Soundcloud are the big ones though I suppose. I’m working on a website for the podcast too (a little exclusive for you) so that’ll be another place people can find us.


 

You can find the Hyperion Gazette on  Twitter @HyperionGazette and listen to the podcast via:

Sound Cloud
https://soundcloud.com/the-hyperion-gazette

iTunes
https://itun.es/gb/Z22lab.c

Stitcher
http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/the-hyperion-gazette-podcast

About Salon Mickey

Salon Mickey The Disneyland Paris Shareholders Blog
This entry was posted in Fandom, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.